While the Jackson Township Council is ignoring the fact that their Zoning Board currently has two vacancies - which led to the recent Board meeting being cancelled due to lack of a quorum - the Council is set to reappoint two existing Board members.

As previously reported here on FAA News, back in March 2023, the Council appointed Gregg Staffordsmith Sr. to the Board to fill the unexpired term ending June 30, 2023 of Joseph Riccardi. (Riccardi was also appointed that night to fill the unexpired term ending June 30, 2025 of John Spalthoff.)

After filling a 3 month term, the Council is now set to reappoint Mr. Staffordsmith for another one year term to expire June 30, 2024.

Staffordsmith has been involved in Lakewood politics for many years and he has served, for many years, on a number of boards in Lakewood, including the Industrial Commission, Housing Authority, and Utilities Advisory Committee.

Staffordsmith now lives in Jackson and he has been vocal at numerous Town Hall meetings regarding land use development in the Township. This likely lead to his initial appointment to the Zoning Board.

In his day job he is the managing partner of Welcome Home Investments.

The Council is also set to reappoint Lynne Bradley who is the current Vice Chair of the Board. This reappointment is also for a one year term to expire June 30, 2024.

The Board currently consists of Vice Chair Lynne Bradley, Secretary Carl Book Jr., Acting Secretary Jeanine Kaunitz Fritch, James Hurley, Joseph Riccardi, Greg Stafford-Smith, Alt 1, and Raymond Lovacco, Alt 2.

There are 2 vacancies.

At recent Council meetings, members of the public have called on the Council to make transparent appointments to the Board. A number of members of the public stated that they requested applications to the join the Board and that they did not hear anything back from anyone in the Township.

Councilwoman Jennifer Kuhn and Councilman Scott Sargent have been very vocal on the topic in trying to get appropriate Township residents appointed to the Zoning Board.

Council President Stephen Chisholm and Vice President Nino Borrelli have been very mum on the topic.

To join a FAA News WhatsApp Group, click here.

To join the FAA News WhatsApp Status, click here.

No comments: